Population (31 May 2009)
Ê¥ÊTotal 270,333
The Province of Siena (Italian: Provincia di Siena) is a province in the Tuscany region of Italy. Its capital is the city of Siena.
The province is divided into seven historical areas:
1. Alta Val d’Elsa
2. Chianti senese
3. The urban area of (Monteriggioni and Siena)
4. Val di Merse
5. Crete senesi Val d’Arbia
6. Val di Chiana senese
7. Val d’Orcia and Amiata
The area is a hilly one: in the north is Colline del Chianti; Monte Amiata is the highest point at 1,738 metres (5,702Êft); and in the south is Monte Cetona. To the west are the Colline Metallifere (ÒMetallic HillsÓ), whilst the Val di Chiana lies to east. Historically, the province corresponds to the former Republic of Siena. The chief occupations are agricultural (wheat, grapes and fruit) and silk culture. The wine known as Chianti is produced here as well as in other parts of Tuscany: the Chianti Colli Senesi, however, is limited to this province.
Apart from the city of Siena the principal towns are Poggibonsi, Colle di Val d’Elsa, Montepulciano, Chiusi, and San Gimignano.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.